He was with AT&T Bell Laboratories in New Jersey and joined to Seoul National University, Korea, where he is a Professor and served as Department Head for EECS and Director of Institute of New Media and Communications. He received BS and MS degrees from Seoul National University and PhD from the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor in 1986. He was a Visiting Professor at the University of Tokyo and NTT Laboratories, Japan, and Tsinghua University, China.

His research activities are in physical layer wireless communications such as MIMO, OFDM, cooperative diversity, and cognitive radio, and consulting to major wireless industries. He did consulting for Koreasat. He was Principal Investigator in communications for ITS Grand Design Project of the Korean government and has been a Council Member of ITS Korea since its establishment in 1999. His laboratory was designated as a National Research Laboratory by Korean Ministry of Science and Technology. He published over 360 papers with 3,700 citations and holds thirty-four patents.

He was President of Institute of Electronics Engineers of Korea (renamed Institue of Electronics and Information Engineers) and Korean Society of Broadcast Engineers. He is an IEEE Fellow and Member of the Korean Academy of Science and Technology and the National Academy of Engineering of Korea.

IEEE Accomplishments and Services

He was founding Chair of the Vehicular Technology Society Seoul Chapter (1994) and the Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society Seoul Chapter (1995). He was General Chair of the 57th IEEE Vehicular Technology Conference (VTC 2003-Spring). He created the IEEE Asia Pacific Wireless Communications Symposium (APWCS) in 2004 as founding Chairman of its Board of Governors, which has become an exchange hub of wireless experts in Region 10. As VT Society Asia Pacific Chapter Development Coordinator from 2004 to 2009 he made contribution to substantial society membership growth in Region 10. For the VT Society he has been elected as a member of Board of Governors since 2006, and was Executive Vice President from 2007 to 2009 before serving as President from 2010 to 2011. He is a VTS Distinguished Lecturer since 2011. He received VTC Chairman’s Award from the VT Society in 2004 and Outstanding Service Award from the IEEE Seoul Section in 2003. He is an IEEE Fellow.