He was with AT&T Bell Laboratories in New Jersey and joined to Seoul National University, Korea, where he is a Professor and served as Department Head for EECS and Director of Institute of New Media and Communications. He received BS and MS degrees from Seoul National University and PhD from the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor in 1986. He was a Visiting Professor at the University of Tokyo and NTT Laboratories, Japan, and Tsinghua University, China.

His research activities are in physical layer wireless communications such as energy harvesting, cognitive radio, D2D communication, and their applications to 5G systems and V2V communications. He served as chairman of the committee for coordination of 3G wireless communication technology development in Korea and was principal investigator in communications for ITS Grand Design Project of the Korean government. He is a member of Advisory Council of 5G Forum of Korea. His laboratory was designated as a National Leading Research Laboratory by the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology of Korea. He published over 360 papers and holds forty-two patents.

He was President of Institute of Electronics Engineers of Korea (renamed Institute of Electronics and Information Engineers) and President of Korean Society of Broadcast Engineers. He is an IEEE Fellow, Fellow of the Korean Academy of Science and Technology, and Regular Member of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea.

IEEE Accomplishments and Services

He was founding Chair of the Vehicular Technology Society Seoul Chapter (1994) and the Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society Seoul Chapter (1995). He was General Chair of the 57th IEEE Vehicular Technology Conference (VTC 2003-Spring). He created the IEEE Asia Pacific Wireless Communications Symposium (APWCS) in 2004 as Founding Chairman of its Board of Governors, which has become an exchange hub of wireless experts in Region 10. As VT Society Asia Pacific Chapter Development Coordinator from 2004 to 2009 he made contribution to substantial membership growth of VT Society in Region 10. For the VT Society he has been elected as a member of Board of Governors since 2006, and was Executive Vice President from 2007 to 2009 before serving as President from 2010 to 2011. He was a VTS Distinguished Lecturer from 2011 to 2015 and has been a VTS Distinguished Speaker since 2015. He served for the IEEE PSPB/TAB Products and Services Committee in 2013, 2015, and 2017, and has served for MGA Membership Recruitment & Recovery Committee since 2015. He received Outstanding Service Award from the Seoul Section in 2003 and VTC Chairman’s Award from the VT Society in 2004. He is an IEEE Fellow.